Four legs good, two legs better!

“You look at the pillars of the state: politics, the media, police, lawyers – they’ve all got their formal role, and then nestling above that is that power elite who are networked in through soft, social links, that are actually running the show.

I was struck by the childlike honesty in this statement made by UK member of Parliament, Tom Watson;It is truly delicious in its innocence … at first glance.

“Why didn’t I know that 10 years ago, and why didn’t I rail against it? Why did I become part of it? I was 34. I’m 44 now. I was naive. But I’ll never let that happen again.”

I’ve reflected on this statement a number of times. At first I was wooed by the overall in-your-face charm, but the more I mulled over it and when I removed the obvious nauseating points being made [as emphasised in bold above], I was then left with a growing feeling of contempt.

Here is the specific comment which is becoming increasingly annoying and bile inspiring, like a random and rogue pieces of popcorn husk that gets stuck between tooth and gum;

Why didn’t I know that 10 years ago, and why didn’t I rail against it?

Yes indeed Tom Watson Member of Parliament; why didn’t you rail against it? Not just you, but the other 650 elected pigs, feasting at the public trough? Why haven’t any of those swine railed at the realisation that a small litter of ‘power elite’ was ‘running the show’?

Was that stark and horrifying reality that woke you from your naive slumber, softened by promises of approved expense claims? Or maybe the pot-of-gold at the end of Westminster’s rainbow, in the form of bulging pension benefits that would have most of us salivating uncontrollably, like Pavlov’s dog left to roam freely through a pet food factory?

… and now that you have realised that you were not only naive, but that you didn’t rail against it, having chowed down on the spoils of the public purse for ten years, are you going to rail now after a public admission that you haven’t?

We wait with bated breath Tom Watson MP.

Will the pigs at the trough decide enough is enough at Westminster Animal Farm? Or will they, by some Orwellianesque metamorphosis, suddenly rise from their four legs on to two, and mimic the power elite, becoming that which they failed to rail against?

Four legs good, two legs better!

Indeed.

Leave a Reply

